View All Sponsors

Click images to enlarge

Presentation of AUSMEPA Plaque to Captain John Watkinson

Thursday, 22 July 2010

At the AUSMEPA 10th Anniversary celebrations in Brisbane on 13 July, tribute was made to the founding fathers of AUSMEPA these included Captain Steve Pelecanos, former Minister for Transport Peter Morris MP (retired), Captain Michael Alexander former Chairman of AUSMEPA and Greg McGarvie former Executive Director.

Particular recognition was also made to Captain John Watkinson, following his recent retirement from his position as General Manager Maritime Safety Queensland.

Captain Watkinson had been at the breakfast meeting in May 1999 when the first discussions were held about setting up a MEPA in Australia, John then went on to agree to his office running the Secretariat for the next three years.

In the photographs below Michael Julian, Executive Director of AUSMEPA presents Captain Watkinson with an AUSMEPA plaque with the inscription ‘Presented to Captain John Watkinson in appreciation for his assistance in the establishment of AUSMEPA in July 2000 and his continued commitment and support’ July 2010